143 Miles Advice Please

davidefernandes
davidefernandes Posts: 54
edited June 2013 in Road beginners
Hi, I'm quite new to road biking, after a bit of advice.

I'm pretty healthy and fit , have cycled between 20&40 miles for the past 4 weekends building up slowly to the latter. I'm looking to cycle 143 miles in September. Any advice on building up my distance, should I just keep adding 5/10 miles to my distance each time I go out?

Also, may be a silly question, but I find it hard to keep a slow pace, I seem unable to cycle slower than 18 mph on average. I did my 40 miler in just over 2 hours, but whilst I was going round I thought I was going pretty slow! Any suggestions to help, or is it just a case of make myself cycle slower?

Any help would be appreciated!

Comments

• Brakeless
    Brakeless Posts: 865
    Slowly increase your distance and eat lots. What feels fine at 40 miles may feel very different after 100. Whether its you body - stomach, legs, back, even hands from being on the bars for a longer time. You need to know what you are able to eat, some people can hardly touch solids after 4 or 5 hours in the saddle whilst others could happily eat a roast dinner. You may find that your comfy shoes aren't so comfy after all, there's loads that 'could' happen and affect your ride. The only way to find out is get out there.
  • saprkzz
    saprkzz Posts: 592
    The targets for me used to increase in 20's, so getting from 40 to 60, and then from 60 to 80.

The difference from riding from 40 to 80 is massive so your going to have to prepare your self both phyiscally and mentally for 143.

I havent done any rides over 75 since December and I did 117 on Sunday, found it pretty easy, and managed to keep 19mph average over the distance so was a nice steady pace.
    For me it was about getting the food and drink right for the ride, and also the week leading up to it. You have plenty of time to train for it.