Canyon ultimate CF SLX 9.0 SL

De Canch
De Canch Posts: 6
edited October 2013 in Your road bikes
Hello,

I'm new to this forum and want to present myself, i'm a 30 year old belgium guy.
I've been cycling for te last 15 years, with the last 5 years with a road bike.
First a picture of my first road bike:
Ridley Icarus
Shimano 105 compact
Dura Ache WH 7850 C24-CL wheelset with Conti GP4000s
att90569.jpg

But after 5 years it was time for a change, as i wanted a goodlooking lightweight climbing bike.
Also wanted Sram Red as groupset, because of the lightweight, looks and wanted to try something else than shimano
and as i don't like the shifters of Campagnolo, So it would be Sram Red
I'm going to participate at the Marmotte this year.
And finally i had to choose between Cannondale Supersix Evo red and Canyon Ultimate CF SLX 9.0 SL.

After making the comparison i went for the Canyon Ultimate CF SLX 9.0 SL
Ordered it in begin december and recieved week 19 as delivering date. week 19 came and recieved an email from canyon that there was a delay, after 3 weeks i recieved an email with the UPS tracking :D

So thursday this week i recieved a package from canyon with the bike in.
I also choose the new VCLS 2.0 seatpost for a little extra comfort.

Here is a picture of it after the first ride.

att24155.jpg

A small review after my first ride of 80 km's, the combination of the carbon frame, R-sys SLR wheels and VCLS 2.0 seatpost makes it a very stiff but comfortable bike. The moment you let the legs work you immediately feel the acceleration. Will do 500 km next week, that will give me a better image of the bike.
But lightweight it is!!! total weight with Keo 2 Max Carbon pedals is 6,2kg for a Large model

Some modifications that are already been done, and some that needs to be done.
- Changed the Sram Red crank from 172,5mm to 177,5mm (have a inseam of 91cm and i'm 1,81m so long legs)
To do's
-Tune Quick release because the mavic's are like boat anchors