Help Setting Up Front Forks

iLukeKendall
iLukeKendall Posts: 160
edited May 2013 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi all,

So I'm kinda new to MTB, and bought a 2013 Trek Mamba about 4 months ago. It came with a RockShox XC32 (Coil Spring), and since owning it I've not been completely satisfied with the fork - it seems very stiff and doesn't seem to absorb much at all.

The fork allows for two adjustments;
1) Rebound - Adjusted by turning a dial under the right fork towards either a tortoise or a hare.
2) Preload - Can be loosened or tightened.

I have tried adjusting these but I don't really now what I'm doing and haven't seen a massive difference (not that I've extensively tested different settings).

I mainly ride across open moorland which can be quite rocky. At the moment it feels almost as if its locked out all the time, even when it's not (although it will budge if I stand up and start bouncing the fork).

I was wondering if anyone could please offer me some advice on how I should best set this up for my weight/body size, as I have no idea! Should I have the rebound set to the hare or tortoise? Should the preload be loose or tight?

I'm 18, around 6ft tall and weigh around 10st 11lbs, or 69kg (slim build) in case that helps at all!

Thanks a lot for reading and for any suggestions!
Whyte 29-CS • Canyon Ultimate • #CCWMTB • Strava Profile

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    preload sets the SAG. you want about 20%
    rebound controls the speed that the fork extends. you should just be able to pick the bike off the ground before the fork fully extends from compressed.

that is all you have to play with.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • iLukeKendall
    nicklouse wrote:
    preload sets the SAG. you want about 20%