So what's the deal with tubs these days?

geetee1972
geetee1972 Posts: 4
edited May 2013 in Road general
I've got back into road riding over the last 18 months, having grown up on the road from 12 to 16 but then switched to mountain biking. As a kid, I always wanted a pair of 'sprint tubulars' but was never allowed due to the cost. Now having hit the 40 mark and having got back into the road as a way of spending more time on a bike (it's all bikes, it's all good), I am hankering after a pair of tubs for sunday best.

I already have a decent set of all round riding wheels, built around H Plus Son Archetype clinchers and I have enjoyed the comfortable feel of Vittoria Open Paves on these.

But the idea of a high quality set of hand built sprints is very appealing. Is it just nostalgia, curiosity or is there still some performance benefit to be had as there always was?

Comments

• declan1
    declan1 Posts: 2,470
    First of all, welcome!

I have no experience in them, but tubulars are known to have better ride quality and are therefore faster than clinchers. They are, however, not very easy at all to repair at the side of the road if you get a puncture. I would only use them for racing if I ended up getting some.

Road - Dolan Preffisio
    MTB - On-One Inbred

I have no idea what's going on here.
  • Barteos
    Barteos Posts: 657
    Tubs are generally no faster per se but they are more resistant to pinch flats therefore the main benefit is being able to run them safely at LOWER pressure not at ultra high PSI as most of people believe.
    On most surfaces other than a velodrome or smooth tarmac reducing pressure will result in lower rolling resistance and improved comfort.

Personally I'd go tubeless instead especially when more 28mm tyres become available. It'll eventually render tubs obsolete.
    EDIT: Perhaps pros will be still using them due to weight saving (rims) ...
  • geetee1972