Ribble gran fondo

dav1d1
dav1d1 Posts: 653
edited June 2013 in Road buying advice
Hello,

Looking at getting the ribble as my first road bike, but am a total newbie when it comes to group sets etc! Even though will be going to ribble later this week when am home, but just wanted some help for you about what would be best group set etc so am not a complete newbie when speaking to ribble

Comments

• freezing77
    freezing77 Posts: 731
    Dav1d1 wrote:
    Hello,

Looking at getting the ribble as my first road bike, but am a total newbie when it comes to group sets etc! Even though will be going to ribble later this week when am home, but just wanted some help for you about what would be best group set etc so am not a complete newbie when speaking to ribble

I have this, in my opinion if you are going for Shimano the 105 groupset offers the best performance/ value point in the Shimano range. Others peoples opinions may differ.

Ribble Gran Fondo Shimano
    Ribble Gran Fondo Carbon Road Frame L (54cm C to Top)
    Ribble Gran Fondo Carbon Road Forks 1 1/8-1 1/2 ITS
    ITM Headset 1 1/8- 1 1/2 Hidden 45x45 46mm
    Shimano 105 (5700) Black 10 Spd Double Groupset
    Shimano 105 5700 BB Cups (105 10 Double/Triple) Eng
    Shimano 105 Black 5700 Brakes
    Shimano 10 Spd 105 5700 Cassette 11-28
    Shimano 10 Spd 5701 105 Chain
    Shimano 105 Black Dbl 5750 10 Chainset Compact 172.5 34/50
    Shimano 105 Black (5700) 10 Dbl Fr Gear Braze-on
    Shimano 105 Black (5700) 10 Spd Rear Gear Short (SS)
    Shimano STI Levers 105 Black 5700 with cables Double
    ITM Pr Whls Aero 2.4 8/9/10 Shim
    Deda RHM 01 Bars Red Glossy 44cm
    Deda Zero 1 Stem Red Glossy 80mm
    CSN Superleggera K6 Saddle Black
    CSN Carbon S.E. Seatpillar 31.6 400mm
  • cattytown
    cattytown Posts: 647
    Basically the choice may well be heavily influenced by budget. 900 gets you Sora, and 1K gets you Tiagra or from Campy the Xenon/Veloce option.