Boardman MTB race

laart
laart Posts: 3
edited May 2013 in MTB buying advice
Hi, I am looking for a new beginner bike for everyday riding in city and little bit on trails. I would like to know if someone has got this bike, or have ride it. I have searched net and haven't found any information from someone who has ride this bike. As I understand this is the cheapest from Boardman bikes, but overall review of company is quite good. Price is 365 GBP discounted from 560 GBP. Also what are your thoughts about part list ? I'm quite new to these kind of bikes, only have been riding street/dirt bikes.

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/boardman-mtb-race/

0108.jpg?w=2000&h=2000&a=7

Part list -
Fork - Suntour XCR LOD, 120mm, hydraulic damping, lock out and preload
Wheels - Alex DP20 rims built on Formula disc hubs with stainless steel spokes
Speed: 24 gears
Brake/Shift Levers: SRAM X4
Chainset: FSA, triple 44x32x22 (crank length varies according to frame size)
Bottom Bracket: FSA cartridge
Rear Derailleur: SRAM X5
Front Derailleur: SRAM X5
Brake Calipers: Tektro Draco
Chain: KMC Z99
Cassette: SRAM PG830
Handlebar: cboardman, 31.8mm
Bar Grips: White
Stem: cboardman, 31.8mm. Stem length varies according to frame size
Seat Post: cboardman, 31.6mm x 330mm
Saddle: cboardman
Tyres: Continental Mountain King, 29 x 2.2

Comments

• gorantoric
    gorantoric Posts: 2
    Hello,

I have just ordered one for my girlfriend. It's not top of the line bike, but you can't get better bike for that price. It's a good bike for the recreational rides, but if the plan is riding trails 3-4 times per week then you shold choose something else. Fork is from Suntour and they have poor quality and performance. The good thing is that fork is the one with a coilspring and not air chamber. Forks with the coilsprings doesn't required so much maintenance.