Motivation after abandoning mid-race

cojones
cojones Posts: 131
edited June 2013 in Amateur race
Hi,

I'm in my first year of Paracycling competition. I've done a couple of 4th Cats to get experience, where I was the only para rider and got lapped, rode on my own, but still got a feel for it.

I have done two races where para riders and able bodied rode together. Managed to cling on to the bunch for longer, but ultimately got dropped and rode either on my own or with other para riders.

Given the weather, all races have involved a tough headwind at some point round the circuit, which I would have been shielded from to an extent had I been able to maintain contact with the bunch.

In the last race on Sunday, after three laps of really fighting, I was dropped again and as soon as I hit the 15-30 mph headwind it was too much and I caved mentally, coasting round to the finish and abandoning.

I'm aware that I need a lot more experience to stay with the bunch and to get up to the front to stay there and I'm aware that it probably won't happen this year.

Anticipating those that will reply saying, 'you're not good enough, give up' or similar (and ignoring their less than helpful replies), I'm wondering if anyone else has had similar experiences and what they did to keep the motivation and desire to continue. Any advice or guidance is very much appreciated.

Thanks,

Matt

Comments

• saprkzz
    saprkzz Posts: 592
    Hi Matt,

How do you approach the race, do you sit in the main bunch or do you try and get to the front. Is it just the pace that you cant keep up with and you just blow?

I found the 4th Cats fast, but was manageable to keep with the bunch but nearly ruined it on lap 3 by "having a go" and I was shelled out the back in a matter of seconds, it took me 3 laps to get back on and a further 5 laps to recover.. I will never do that again!

There is so many factors why you may be finding it hard, as we don't know what training you do or type of riding etc...