Bike/Kit/Places For Beginner, Advice Please

Red268
Red268 Posts: 6
edited May 2013 in MTB beginners
Hi all,

Short version: Pretty much decided on a VooDoo HooDoo, but not sure what kit I should be getting too, i.e. clothing, repair kit, backpack, etc etc. Complete beginner. Few questions about the bike below.

Some detail: I haven't touched a bike for about ten years. I really like the idea of mountain biking and have been looking around on an off for a long time. Recently I started looking more seriously, but with foolish expectations. I set out with a £150 budget expecting to get a full suspension bike and all the kit involved and still have enough for a few pints at the local.

Realising how foolish I was being didn't take too long! So after looking around at reviews, I came across Bike Radars fantastic section for bikes under £500, which is how I came to choose the VooDoo HooDoo.

Me: 25 year old guy, a little out of shape - Bit of a beer belly - Feel free to poke fun, or poke it with a stick :)

Kit questions: Any recommendations for a decent backpack? Puncture repair kits? Gloves? Shorts? Tshirts? Helmet? Pump? Spare inner tubes? Are normal trainers alright?

Bike questions: I know this will annoy people, but I would like to buy the bike from Halfords, for one reason - I can get 40% any bike from there. So I can get a new bike for second hand money. I'd rather not spend more than about £300 (After the 40% off. So a £500 bike.) on the bike, and given that, does the VooDoo HooDoo seem like a good bet. I know it's recommended by Bike Radar, but has anything better come out since then for the same sort of money?

I know I'll be shot for asking, but would anyone be able to give me a rough guide on size? I'm just under 5 foot 6, inside leg about 29 inches. I know it's best to go and try, but I'd just like a rough idea. Maybe an 18" frame?

Places: I live between Luton and Bedford, but have no idea where to go. Any places near me worth looking at?