Clothes For 100mile Ride In May?

kampernaut
kampernaut Posts: 27
edited May 2013 in Road beginners
I'm new to this cycling stuff and haven't bought much gear yet. I hope you can provide some advice on what to wear for a 100mile charity ride I've got coming up in May. Its going to take me all day and so I should probably equip myself for a wide range of weather conditions. Anything can happen in Wales at that time of year! :lol:

Due to the bad weather up until now I've been wearing bib shorts with old running leggings over them, a couple of running shirts on top and then a waterproof hi-viz jacket (nutters on the road around here). Last weekend the sun came out for a change and I was OK with just the bib shorts on my legs although it was a bit chilly in the shade when the wind blew.

However we're going to be starting this event early in the morning and it can be a bit nippy then in May even if the sun does come out later in the day (fingers crossed). So I don't know whether to buy a long or short sleeve jersey. What would you recommend?

Shorts or tights?

Also what if it hammers down with rain? Do you guys carry waterproofs with you? If so, where do you pack them?

So far I've done 68 miles in one day and so I think I'm physically capable of completing the ride. I just don't want to fail because I didn't have the right clothes.

All suggestions greatly appreciated.

Comments

• chuckla
    chuckla Posts: 132
    Assuming you're doing the Carten100? Im doing that aswell, and Im pretty new to road cycling! I'll be wearing bib shorts, jersey and a windproof lightweight jacket to start with, been considering some leg and arm warmers as they can be removed easily once hot. As far as waterproofs, I'll pack a light weight waterproof jacket, I probably wont bother with waterproof trousers!

Starts off a bit nippy, but I warm up relatively quick, as long as my top half is warm im ok!
  • Calpol
    Calpol Posts: 1,039