Triban 5 B'Twin

whitestar1
whitestar1 Posts: 530
edited May 2013 in Road beginners
Hi all
I am new to road racing but have been communting on a mountain bike for over a year now. I am planning to buy a B'Twin Triban 5 road bike (Decathlon) £500 if failing to acquire that total by Christmas I will go for the Triban 3 (it does look nice in red). What are the views on these bikes? Decathlon has a store on my daily communte so its my lbs.
Ride Safe! Keep Safe!
Specialized Roubaix Comp 2017
Cube Agree Pro 2014
Triban 7 2013
RockRider 8.0 2011
http://www.whitestar1.co.uk

Comments

• woodywmb
    woodywmb Posts: 669
    Great starter bike. Buy the cheaper one and use it as a winter hack when you eventually upgrade. Get to know your bike over the next year or so - the parts, how they all work, how to service it, how to ride it in different circumstances (solo/groups/long distance etc). Then, some day, enjoy picking the bike of your dreams based on what you've learned. Enjoy.
  • whitestar1 wrote:
    Hi all
    I am new to road racing but have been communting on a mountain bike for over a year now. I am planning to buy a B'Twin Triban 5 road bike (Decathlon) £500 if failing to acquire that total by Christmas I will go for the Triban 3 (it does look nice in red). What are the views on these bikes? Decathlon has a store on my daily communte so its my lbs.
    There are loads of threads on the Triban 3 here
    http://www.cyclechat.net/forums/beginners.4/
  • I'd wait and see if the Triban gets the 2013 sora shifters - in which case go for that because it won't have annoying paddle shifters
  • Just got my triban 3 yesterday, and had it out once up to the top of the road and I am in love! Meh to the 2300 shifters, but they will do for now... Can't afford tiagra just now!

Feels just as nice as bikes I've ridden which have cost 3x as much.