Wheels!

englander
englander Posts: 232
edited April 2013 in Road buying advice
I have a 2010 Spec Allez with Alex S500 wheels. I've put 1000 miles on them since Feb and I've no idea how many miles were on them before that. I'm looking in to treating myself to some new wheels for summer, to congratulate myself for completing a year of university (I'm rewarding myself in advance...). As I am a student, the budget is almost imperceptibly small, but it could just about stretch to Shimano R500s.

I'm fairly set on these, but I just wanted some clarification that they are decentish wheels. The cheapest incl. delivery is £85 from Merlin Cycles, but Ribble list them at £72 but out of stock. Interestingly, they have the bladed spokes version for £72 incl. discount... but they come in at 2kg.

Does anyone have any thoughts or advice either way? Has anyone seen them cheaper elsewhere?

Thanks for reading.
Specialized Allez 2010
Strava

Comments

• Camcycle1974
    Camcycle1974 Posts: 1,356
    My advice would be to save your pennies until you can afford a wheel set that will give noticeably better performance. True, the Alex wheels are entry level but so are the R500. £150-200 will buy you a nice budget set of hand built, lightweight wheels (Kinlin XR 200, Miche hubs and some laser spokes?) where you will notice a significant difference. Not easy to resist the lure of student life but you should if your "upgrade" is to be worthwhile.

Sure Ugo or The Cycle Clinic will chime in at some point to offer their expert opinion. Until then, get saving!
  • antfly
    antfly Posts: 3,276
    You would just be swapping one pair of cheap, heavy wheels with another. The ones I had kept breaking spokes on the rear.
    Smarter than the average bear.
  • pkripper
    pkripper Posts: 652
    I would blow the money up the wall at the summer ball instead, as the wheels won't make much difference other than being shinier.
  • Calpol
    Calpol Posts: 1,039