London to Brighton advice

dadmcstuffins
dadmcstuffins Posts: 5
edited April 2013 in Road beginners
Hello all, having badgered the better half into allowing me to get a road bike :) I have gone the whole nine yards and booked myself into the L to B ride. I've done this for many reasons, 1 to force myself to get fit and 2 I've always wanted to do something for charity.
I have been riding a week now and have started with an average of 14.5 mph over short distances which I know I can build upon.
The reason for my post is has anybody else done this and is it really challenging or a good place to start if I want to build upto sportives next year. I also chose this one as I feel I've have enough time to prepare for it.
What do you more experienced guys/girls say ?
My background is driving every where, fags and chocolate by the truck load, not much of a drinker though.
I started last week at 18.3st and hope to be 17.12st in a week. Where, what, can I do it. (Stopping smoking is on the agenda)
Advice, however critical would be appreciated

Pete

Comments

• Have a look at this,

http://www.bhf.org.uk/get-involved/even ... edule.aspx

It's a good start :D
    Wilier La Triestina
    Specialized Tarmac Comp
  • giant_man
    giant_man Posts: 6,878
    Get rid of the fags and chocolate, and when booking L2B, get an early set off, believe me, you need to.
  • cookeeemonster
    cookeeemonster Posts: 1,991
    giant man wrote:
    Get rid of the fags and chocolate, and when booking L2B, get an early set off, believe me, you need to.

This ^

It gets very crowded very quickly from 7.30am onwards, meaning large sections of the route are very slow with people stopping dead in front of you to walk up a slight incline and so on.