Double or triple?

KevChallis
KevChallis Posts: 646
edited May 2013 in Road beginners
I am not good with technical terms yet, but se varying sides saying a triple adds weight, and you will never use all three (sprockets where pedals are sorry for terminology) what are the advantages of each, as some bikes I look at ie carrera virtuoso and specialized allez only have a double, where as the triban 3 & 5 have a triple.

Thanks for any answers

Kev
Kev
PlanetX Pro Carbon
Voodoo Bizango

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    edited April 2013
    There are 3. Double, compact and triple. Sprockets are on your cassette at the rear. Front ones are chainrings.

You are choosing between compact and triple.
    My advice would be to get a compact with large cassette. 28 or even 32.

To me a triple is for less competent people, and a compact is for the majority of everyday riders.

I feel a triple just adds unnecessary complication.
    The other thing is that you will just rely on the small front ring and never get any better. Either that or never use it and it will just be a bit of metal going along for the ride!

Its great if you are having a bad day, hungover on a big hill, but a big cassette sprocket is just as good IMO.
  • islandman
    islandman Posts: 73
    Hi mate, I ride a triple but hardly ever use the inner ring, good to know I can get up anything though even when I'm totally crackered. So when you've gone out for your first fifty you don't have to worry about getting home. In the real world you don't notice the weight difference.
  • Anonymous
    islandman wrote:
    Hi mate, I ride a triple but hardly ever use the inner ring, good to know I can get up anything though even when I'm totally crackered. So when you've gone out for your first fifty you don't have to worry about getting home. In the real world you don't notice the weight difference.

That sounds like another vote for a compact to me.