Acceptable Commuting Pace

stu-bim
stu-bim Posts: 384
edited April 2013 in Commuting chat
I have been commuting for three months and enjoying it. I have a Raleigh RX 2.0, cx bike and notice that times have kinda stagnated around 1hr 20m (20.7 miles) which is average 15.5 mph, mostly as I am not pushing hard lately. Happy to be getting around 100 miles per week, healthier and losing some weight (properly). I would rather get consistent for the rest of the year than do too much too soon.

What is a acceptable commuting pace for a 20 mile RT? Something that I could aim for after a year of cycling. It is a countryside cycle with next to no traffic and obviously any hills even out on a round trip but very windy.
Raleigh RX 2.0
Diamondback Outlook
Planet X Pro Carbon

Comments

• pangolin
    pangolin Posts: 6,311
    3 laps of Richmond Park is 20 miles, and the general target is 1 hour. The extra .7 will make that hard, but doable now and then on a good day with kind wind.

Not every day though. Maybe 1:10 would be more of a regular target?
    - Genesis Croix de Fer
    - Dolan Tuono
  • Drfabulous0
    Drfabulous0 Posts: 1,539
    I was under the impression that the only pace acceptable was slightly faster than the guy in front.
  • meanredspider
    meanredspider Posts: 12,337
    Far too many variables to answer: wind, elevation, temperature, road surface, bike, tyres, clothing.

The key thing is improvement
    ROAD < Scott Foil HMX Di2, Volagi Liscio Di2, Jamis Renegade Elite Di2, Cube Reaction Race > ROUGH
  • MrSweary
    MrSweary Posts: 1,699
    The key thing is improvement

This. If you are getting some personal bests each week, given comparable conditions, you're doing fine.
    Kinesis Racelite 4s disc
    Kona Paddy Wagon
    Canyon Roadlite Al 7.0 - reborn as single speed!
    Felt Z85 - mangled by taxi.
  • MonkeyMonster
    MonkeyMonster Posts: 4,628
    pangolin wrote:
    3 laps of Richmond Park is 20ish miles, and the general target is 1 hour