Fueling up for a big ride

rockmonkeysc
rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
edited April 2013 in Health, fitness & training
I'm a bit new to long XC rides and I don't think I prepare properly or keep myself properly fueled and hydrated.
This weekend I'm going for a 60km ride across the Purbeck hills.
After previous big (50km) rides I have suffered terrible migraines which I believe were possibly caused by my blood sugar dropping. My wife is diabetic so she tested me after my last ride and I was down to 4.2 after having a Snickers bar on the way home, after the ride and before the blood test.
My first question is how should I prepare? And secondly how much and what sort of food and drink should I take? Thirdly what should I do for recovery? I'm guessing collapsing on the sofa with a pint as I usually do isn't what I should be doing.

Comments

• danlikesbikes
    danlikesbikes Posts: 3,898
    Ditch the snickers bar, as an emergency its OK due to the nuts but generally chocolate bars tend to add to the sugar high/crash cycle.

Make sure you eat properly before your ride is the start. Drinks wise try some energy drink as will add liquid calories & depending on which brand may also contain sodium etc.

Food on the ride try and keep it simple is the best & cheapest way to go. Bananas, flapjacks (homemade), fig rolls, dates etc. If you want to spend then you can buy ready made energy bars but they can be quite expensive.
    Pain hurts much less if its topped off with beating your mates to top of a climb.
  • MTB13
    MTB13 Posts: 29
    Drink plenty! Headaches can be caused by dehydration.
  • rockmonkeysc
    rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
    I don't think it's dehydration causing headaches, I have no other symptoms of dehydration. I think it has more to do with blood sugar crashing. I have lost a lot of weight over the last four months so I have been trying not to eat much when riding but I think I might have gone too far a few times.
  • danlikesbikes