Bike Insurance for Switzerland Resident

bobgfish
bobgfish Posts: 545
edited April 2013 in Road buying advice
Help

I am a resident of Switzerland. Travel insurance does not cover luggage and therefore checked in bikes. Travelling Friday. Does anyone know of cheap solution. Only option at the moment is nearly £500 to extent home insurance and then also have to pay for travel insurance on top of this.

Stupid thing is my current insurance covers my bike up until the point of giving it to the check in staff. When it comes off the plane and I get it back I'm covered even if I crash it and break it....

Frustrated...

Comments

• My household and car insurer added on my bike for a couple of hundred francs a year. Can't think of any specific insurance like you might find in the UK. Oddly really, given that everything is insured in Switzerland. Try asking in a local bike shop too; someone might have more specific advice there.
  • bobgfish
    Eventually added to house insurance. Still expensive at over 400CHF for a year...
  • schweiz
    schweiz Posts: 1,644
    Who are you insured with? My bikes are insured all risks with AXA Winterthur on their BOX Optima product. I also pay an increased premium to extend the basic cover per bike from the standard CHF 3000 to CHF 5000 per claim. When I spoke to their agent about the fact that we have five bikes at home and that if say two were on the care and they both got nicked then I would be out of pocket, he just said "put in two claims a week apart!". I could have paid to insure all 5 bikes at home for their full RRP replacement but based on risk, I felt CHF 5000 was enough cover. I have to say I've had one frame damaged by the father-in-law's snow plough and one bike nicked in Luzern and AXA-Winterthur have been a pleasure to deal with. No hassle, no quibble and the money was in my bank inside a week of the claim both times.

The total cost of my insurance including a total of CHF 150k of cover is CHF 900 p.a. (Kt OW)