I would suggest that you wear a helmet, please.

13»

Comments

• mouth
    mouth Posts: 1,195
    I don't believe in compulsion but I know which side of the fence I sit on here. I damn near always wear a helmet. I occasionally forget when I get up late in the morning for the ride to work or something like that. I also make sure my son wears his when we ride but I must admit I have no clue as to whether he bothers when he's out alone. I suspect he does.

Ballsy - your point ref seat belts works both ways IMO. As a bus driver by trade my vehicle is exempt from seat belts and so I don't wear one. When I get in the car to drive home it certainly feels very weird.
    The only disability in life is a poor attitude.
  • airbag
    airbag Posts: 201
    Rolf F wrote:
    I think part of the problem is that quite a few cyclists insist on believing that cycling isn't any more dangerous than walking whereas common sense says that it quite clearly is. 30 mph on the roads is more dangerous than 4mph on the pavement (as long as you aren't in an iPod induced semi coma oblivious to your surroundings). I'm only too well aware of this having been particularly unlucky over the last 6 months - knocked off twice by cars, once in a club ride coming together and once on ice. Of course, if you only ride at weekends in nice weather, the odds change somewhat.

Is that really a particular problem? Most of the unhelmeted cyclists I see aren't cycling at closer to walking speed than 30mph, not in close formation with other cyclists, and avoid busy roads. It sounds to me like you're taking far more risk than they are. In fact, in that situation I don't see why cycling shouldn't be at least approximately as safe as walking - you've even got the advantage of constant rather than intermittent contact patches, and it's pretty much impossible to fall directly backwards on a bike where your arms can't reflexively protect your head.