Which Bike Shall i get?

defuzed28
defuzed28 Posts: 6
edited April 2013 in Tour & expedition
I like to go cycle camping so i sometimes go off-road. i use my bike daily for shopping and stuff. i currently have a mountain bike with pannier racks that has worked OK for my trips but would like a 29er.

i am totally confused as to whether i should get a rigid or suspension fork? yes the rigid fork would be great for road and touring but suspension bikes can do the same right?

i haven't done any long haul touring yet but am planning to.

If i do go for a more traditional touring bike i would like to have fatter tires so i have more grip off-road.

Any thoughts?..

Comments

• something like this comes to mind.
    http://www.genesisbikes.co.uk/bikes/mou ... -adventure

there is much much to be said on travelbikes and everyone (travelling anywhere) will give you a different advice. I worked in a shop were we sold a lot of Santos bikes which (equipped with rohloff, belt and all the goodies you can get) seem to be ideal long long (I mean word travelling) rides regardless what terrain. More casual rides and holiday trips require a less specialized but still equally suited rig. Fixed (steel) forks are great and have plenty options to hang your bags on the back and front on lowrider panniers. Bikes like the fortitude that sport them are just great fun to ride and seem to meet most of your demands for some adventure. Give it a look and tell us what you think!
  • mercia_man
    mercia_man Posts: 1,431
    I'd go for a touring bike/29er with rigid fork. It would be significantly quicker and easier to pedal for long distances than a mountain bike with suspension fork and would provide the perfect platform for carrying low-rider front and rear panniers.