Need advise

Sportif newbie
Sportif newbie Posts: 17
edited April 2013 in Road beginners
I have just brought my first road shoes and pedals (Shimano R087W with SPD SL pedals) but I am completely new to road cycling, can anybody give me advise on how to start using them. I hear about near misses and I don't want a crash !!!

Many thanks

Comments

• smidsy
    smidsy Posts: 5,273
    Get used to clipping in and out by setting up next to a wall or your sofa or whatever.

You need to drop your heel and twist to achieve a nice even release. If you panic and try and pull up it will not release properly.

Drop your heel and twist is the key.
    Yellow is the new Black.
  • danlikesbikes
    danlikesbikes Posts: 3,898
    Once you have had a bit of practice inside find a quite flat road and just practice on there too clipping out and coming to a stop then setting off and clipping in. Should get easy pretty quickly TBH.

For the first few times on the road consider your surroundings and if coming up to a junction or lights make sure you are ready in plenty of time to clip out and slow steadily rather than rush towards it slam the breaks on and possibly panic and try in vein to lift your foot up and out.
    Pain hurts much less if its topped off with beating your mates to top of a climb.
  • MattyyP
    MattyyP Posts: 142
    Nobody wants to crash... I'd been riding clipless for 4 months before I had my first fall due to not being able to unclip! But that was thanks to exhaustion more than anything! :lol:
    Specialized Secteur Sport 2011
    B'Twin Rockrider 8 XC
    B'Twin Rockrider 9.1
  • team47b
    team47b Posts: 6,425
    I would advise that you that you will not 'crash' but you may fall over when stationary once or twice, practice makes perfect, this is a good place to get advice on spelling too! :D
    my isetta is a 300cc bike
  • LittlePlums
    LittlePlums Posts: 139
    team47b wrote: