Cables rubbing on frame

bond-007
bond-007 Posts: 87
edited April 2013 in MTB general
Just were the cables come from brake/gear levers above the front fork there rubbing on the frame there and not doing the paint work any favours!

Am i just being to picky or is it the norm ?

Thanks in advance and i am a newbie so forgive me if this is a dumbass question :D

Comments

• Chunkers1980
    Chunkers1980 Posts: 8,035
    Sort out the lengths and or protect those areas with patches/tape
  • stubs
    stubs Posts: 5,001
    Google Helicopter tape its a thick but flexible tape that will protect the frame.
    Fig rolls: proof that god loves cyclists and that she wants us to do another lap
  • bond-007
    Cheers lad, didnt know this stuff exsisted or i would of had it on before now

Any good brands you would recommend ?
  • I use the heli tape that bike tart sell.
    I've had it on all my bikes and it is excellent.
    One roll of the 5cm x 2 meters does the whole bike
  • I use the clear excess bit of of a sheet of MBUK stickers, because I'm tight.
    Wheelies ARE cool.

Zaskar X
  • stubs
    stubs Posts: 5,001
    The best is 3M brand its non yellowing and sticks like shit to a blanket. Beware cheap imitations some of the stuff sold on ebay is no better than sellotape. I got my last lot from these on ebay a meter should do the whole bike with plenty left over.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3M-Leading-Edge-Helicopter-Frame-Component-Protection-Tape-1m-x-10cm-/190729809573?pt=UK_sportsleisure_cycling_bikeparts_SR&hash=item2c6861eea5
    Fig rolls: proof that god loves cyclists and that she wants us to do another lap
  • bond-007
    Cheers lads must get some ordered up asap
  • £14 buys a lot of sellotape...
    Wheelies ARE cool.

Zaskar X
  • mcnultycop
    mcnultycop Posts: 2,143
    bond-007 wrote: