Nasty noise

Corporate Camper
Corporate Camper Posts: 293
edited March 2013 in Commuting chat
I (well, my CAAD8) has developed a nasty creaking noise... It came on during a 17 mile ride and gradually got worse.
It seems to only really happen when I push hard with my left peddle. How do I tell if it's peddle related or bottom bracket related?

I'm a bike tech newbie really, but feel I should learn rather than stuff it straight into the LBS
'12 CAAD 8 Tiagra

Comments

• davis
    davis Posts: 2,506
    Got a spare pedal? (or should that be "peddle"? ;-) )

I'd grab the crank arm and give it a good hard wobble (fnarr). If it's the BB it would usually rattle about a bit.

One tip I saw on bicycle tutor is to put the thing on a bike stand and press your ear up against the nose of the saddle (seriously). The bike frame delivers any vibrations/grinding to your ear. Try just spinning the cranks and you might hear a grinding.

I'd also look at the BB cup to see if it's all the way into the BB shell.
    Sometimes parts break. Sometimes you crash. Sometimes it’s your fault.
  • ThatBikeGuy
    ThatBikeGuy Posts: 394
    Strip off the cranks and BB and pedals, grease the lot and put it back together again!
    I used the park tools website to suss out how to do all this the first time i needed to do it.
    Cannondale SS Evo Team
    Kona Jake CX
    Cervelo P5
  • Buckled_Rims
    Buckled_Rims Posts: 1,648
    Sounds like BB. I once had that same type creak, I tightened the BB but the problem remained. I took the whole BB off, cleaned and regreased, the creak went away!

Pedals are easy to take off with a hex key of... (er, can't remember what size, but it's at the back of my tool bag downstairs). Please don't tell me you need to got to the LBS to do that?
    CAAD9
    Kona Jake the Snake
    Merlin Malt 4
  • D'oh... Yes, pedal... :oops:

I think I'll whip the pedal off and see if I can replicate the noise in the garage and then take it from there.
    '12 CAAD 8 Tiagra