A big difference?

menthel
menthel Posts: 2,484
edited March 2013 in Commuting chat
I have been fettling around with my Charge (http://www.bikeradar.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=40052&t=12910825&p=18216799#p18216799) and did my first commute in this morning with the new tyres etc. I noticed that compared to the bog standard tyres it came with (conti contacts with a lot of tread) that the duranos seemed to stick me to the road more. I had similar speeds but in lower gears and the cornering seemed much better. Is that really because of the change in tyres? If so the change in feeling of the bike was pretty dramatic! (And yes, I am a noob at all of this!)
RIP commute...
Sometimes seen bimbling around on a purple Fratello Disc or black and red Aprire Vincenza.

Comments

• cyclingprop
    cyclingprop Posts: 2,426
    Quite possible. Will mainly be the compound of the tyre rather than tread though.
    What do you mean you think 64cm is a big frame?
  • menthel
    Quite possible. Will mainly be the compound of the tyre rather than tread though.

Thanks. The Duranos felt different too when I was installing them. Mind you the two tyres are completely different I guess!
    RIP commute...
    Sometimes seen bimbling around on a purple Fratello Disc or black and red Aprire Vincenza.
  • menthel wrote:
    I have been fettling around with my Charge (http://www.bikeradar.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=40052&t=12910825&p=18216799#p18216799) and did my first commute in this morning with the new tyres etc. I noticed that compared to the bog standard tyres it came with (conti contacts with a lot of tread) that the duranos seemed to stick me to the road more. I had similar speeds but in lower gears and the cornering seemed much better. Is that really because of the change in tyres? If so the change in feeling of the bike was pretty dramatic! (And yes, I am a noob at all of this!)

Not knowing the exact tyres you have gone from, yes the tyres can make this much difference.