new road bike £1000 on cycle to work scheme

Chipper71
Chipper71 Posts: 5
edited March 2013 in Road buying advice
Hi , im pretty new to road cycling ( bought a carrera TDF last year) and am now looking to upgrade as i want to let my son use this bike so i can get him off his X Box.Have a voucher from cycle to work scheme for £1000 and looking for the best bike for my money . Im not tied to Halfords as i can source through independents ( bike tree sheffield, supreme cycles doncaster etc), although looking at the spec the boardman road team bike this seems like good value at £999. im 41 short ass and def carrying a few to many pounds and looking for general fitness and maybe when fit enough some group riding . I want a comfortable ride nothing too sporty . Any ideas/advice would be appreciated .Currently doing 3 x 15-20 miles through week with a 30-40 miler at weekend .

Comments

• Camcycle1974
    Camcycle1974 Posts: 1,356
    Giant Defy 1. Widely touted as the best riding sub £1000 bike available. Perfect for comfortable all day riding.
  • Thanks for that , compiled a bit of a list and that was on it . Cheers
  • passout
    passout Posts: 4,425
    Ribble Sportive or a Cannondale maybe?
    'Happiness serves hardly any other purpose than to make unhappiness possible' Marcel Proust.
  • had a look at a trek madone 2.1 2013 £1000. def liked the look of it . Spec seemed good with 105 . £300 more for full carbon is it worth it at my level , ie will i get any benefit out of slight difference in weight for the price.
  • confused.com
  • Chipper71 wrote:
    confused.com

I was in the same boat mate, you can go round and round in circles reading endless reviews.....buy the one that feels the best and looks the best........make sure you ride whatever you buy first and ride a few to get a good comparison. Try and get Shimano 105 groupset if you can it is great and all you will ever need
  • adz999
    adz999 Posts: 19