Bill Jinks Memorial RRs

nickel
nickel Posts: 476
edited March 2013 in Amateur race
Anyone else entered these?

I've entered the 3/4 and it'll be my first ever road race, just aiming to finish, if I can finish in the bunch I'll be well pleased.

Do any experienced racers have any nuggets of wisdom for a newb? In terms of cycling experience I've been riding with a club for about 18 months and am used to riding fast group rides and chaingangs.

Comments

• ju5t1n
    ju5t1n Posts: 2,028
    I’m in the 2/3 race. Third time I've done this one.

Be near the front for the last turn before the finish to be in with a chance. The finish is at the top of a hill that lots will misjudge and sprint too early on. I know because I've done this myself. Twice!

Good luck on Sunday.
  • nickel
    nickel Posts: 476
    Cheers! You too. I rode out and did a recce of the course last Saturday, weathers look bloody cold, and here was me thinking a few weeks back it'd easily be warm enough to race in shorts!
  • Pross
    Pross Posts: 40,217
    What's the circuit like for this race? I saw it on the calendar and was thinking of entering next year if my early season form is better.
  • ju5t1n
    I just received this from the organiser....

Friday 22nd March 2013: 11:30am

There is currently lying snow in the race area, more forecast and freezing temperatures predicted overnight.

As a consequence the races may have to be cancelled.

A course inspection will take place tomorrow morning and a decision taken at that point as to whether the event can take place.

Status updates will be posted at

https://www.britishcycling.org.uk/event ... es#updates

Let's hope the weathermen are wrong (as usual),

Paul
  • hammerite
    hammerite Posts: 3,408
    Pross wrote:
    What's the circuit like for this race? I saw it on the calendar and was thinking of entering next year if my early season form is better.