brechfa worth the trek?

Chillyonacid
Chillyonacid Posts: 39
edited March 2013 in Routes
hey i'm wondering what peoples opinions of brechfa is. thinking of going with a mate but i live in ebbw which is like 1hr 30 mins away quite the beginner at the mo and the blue trails have perked my interest. what you all think?

Comments

• jimothy78
    jimothy78 Posts: 1,407
    Yep, great.

Did it the other day and had great fun. The blue loop starts/finishes halfway round the green and you can just go round and round as many times as you like (each lap took me about 25mins, and I'm not quick).

The green route itself was a lot of fun, too - lots of interest, a few tabletops, berms and singletracky bits. A couple of protracted descents thrown in which you can fly down as fast as you dare - I'm only a beginner really, but I imagine that even seasoned riders would really enjoy it, they can just go faster and hit the jumps harder.
  • Definite yes!
    I recently got back into the mountains after a 15 year break..bad accident with my bike and a ford sierra lol
    Anyway, i bought an old trek 7000 with some rockshox indy xc forks, hardly up to date but i like a challenge HAHA
    I made the gorlech trail at brechfa my first run. Im seriously out of fit and managed to get round in two hours and still smashed the downhill bits.
    There are a couple of good old climbs but they make the down bits that more worth it!
  • welshkev
    welshkev Posts: 9,690
    yep, do it :D
  • njee20
    njee20 Posts: 9,613
    Yep, great fun.
  • Thanks for the replys you convinced me!
  • wmorgs
    wmorgs Posts: 113
    Deffo worth it, i'v only been MTBing 5 mths and enjoyed it 'COUGHS' :)
  • concorde
    concorde Posts: 1,008