Beginner planning 20each way commute? Help

thebullet118
thebullet118 Posts: 8
edited March 2013 in Commuting general
Hi guys,

I’ve got a Chris boardman hybrid team bike, on the ‘Cycle2work’ scheme.

I’m planning to commute to work, from Syston (LE7) To work in coalville (LE67)
In the car its just under 17mile and cycling I’m looking at 19ish avoiding main roads.

I’m new to cycling, and looking for tips on how to train to my long commute to and from work =)

Any help would be brilliant

Thanks
Vincent

Comments

• Wooliferkins
    Wooliferkins Posts: 2,060
    edited February 2013
    It takes a while to get yourself up to speed for 4/5 days a week. Pace yourself The distance isn't the problem as much as ruining the ride with a days work in the middle. Food and fluids are the key. I was bad at eating and drinking something as soon as I arrived.
    Neil
    Help I'm Being Oppressed
  • Hi,

I'm almost the same. I have a Boarmdan Hybrid Comp, and direct route to work is 18 miles in the car or 20 miles on the bike avoiding a busy A road. I just built up the miles I was doing after work / weekends until I could comfortably at least the full 40 miles in a single trip. I then had a couple of weekend practice runs for the actual commute, to get a rough idea of the likely time and to make a mental note of any potential hazards / potholes and the like.

I usually do the commute twice a week, and have done it thrice on occasion. I tend to try and have a free day between biking to get a bit of a rest. Doing consecutive days of this distance, I find, does catch up with you - particularly if you get drawn into going after Strava segments (or PBs) all the time, which I'm guilty of.

I find the biggest thing is limiting the amount of stuff you have to take. It makes a huge difference if you can work it so that you take all your clothes etc. for 1-2 weeks in in the car one day, similarly for bringing it home again.