GPS/Fitness Computer advice

theshortstack
theshortstack Posts: 7
edited March 2013 in Road buying advice
Morning all,

I'm fairly new to the road, but part of the reason I'm commuting into work every day.

With that in mind, I'm thinking of getting a computer to track the number of calories I'm burning and also guide me to my destination on long rides.

Given my novice status though, is this OTT? If not, can someone point me in the direction of a good starter device? I was looking at the Garmin Edge 500, but can't seem to find screenshots of what the GPS part of the device looks like. Given the monochrome screen, I shouldn't think it's too easy to follow, but happy to be corrected!

Any thoughts?

Thanks very much in advance

Comments

• wongataa
    wongataa Posts: 1,001
    The Edge 500 routing only gives you a breadcrumb trail to follow and no turn by turn directions like car sat navs. If you go off course the 500 will not direct you back on course. If you want turn by turn navigation such as on car sat navs you will need the Edge 800/810 or Bryton Rider 50 with suitable maps.
  • Hey there - thanks a lot for taking the time to reply.

Can you let me know what you mean by a breadcrumb trail?
  • GPS bike computers can be extremely useful for what you require and if you're into collecting data then using a computer and seeing the numbers mount up can be helpful but calorie counting on bike computers is not likely to be accurate as it's based on an algorithm and does not balance the numbers with calorie intake.

A better way of calorie counting for weight loss is weighing yourself routinely and by knowing how many calories are in a pound or kilo of body fat you can calculate calories burned.