hub gear commuter?

Pep
Pep Posts: 501
edited February 2013 in Commuting general
Present bike is 7yr old and has 20k miles on the clock.
I'm tempted to buy a next one, perhaps a commuter with hub gear and disc brake. Commute is 18miles each way.
I have limited experience of hub gear. The LSB confirms they are maintenance free. The only thing that makes me hesitate is repairing after a puncture, seems a slight hassle to remove the back wheel.

How fast and easy is to fix a rear wheel with a hub gear? Of course I'll be i=at the side of the round half way through my commute...

Comments

• Just fit marathon plusses and don't worry about a thing.
  • Pep
    Just fit marathon plusses and don't worry about a thing.
    they get punctures too.
  • It all really depends on what you really want, there is no perfect solution! I run my hub geared bike on marathan plus tyres and have had one puncture in the last three years (13 miles each way commute)Its all about getting the right tool for the job and hub wins hands down in my opinion.
  • Pep
    cheshiren wrote:
    It all really depends on what you really want, there is no perfect solution!
    +1
    Its all about getting the right tool for the job
    +1
    I run my hub geared bike on marathan plus tyres and have had one puncture in the last three years
    Sorry but I will never buy the argument "special tyre saves you from punctures". Eventually, the tyres becomes thinner and less puncture resistant. I also use puncture resistant tyre and occasionally I do get a puncture.
  • DougL
    DougL Posts: 47