Gearing for Mow Cop?

Gpfanuk
Gpfanuk Posts: 142
edited March 2013 in Road beginners
Took the opportunity to check out Mow Cop on Saturday when in the area prior to riding the Cheshire Cat in March. After walking and driving up it to get a feel for it I am now slightly concerned that my bike gearing is up to the job. I am new to road cycling and as such don't run a state of the art bike (Triban 3). Does anybody have combined knowledge of the aforementioned hill/bike and how do you think the gearing on the Triban will fare? I am currently training using the suitable hills close to where I live in the Peak District and have not yet been defeated by any encountered! Apologies if this seems a rather daft question...
Muddy Fox Hardtail Circa 1998
Triban3
Felt AR5
ANC Halfords Peugeot (restored and ridden at Eroica 2015)
A box of bits that will make a fine Harry Hall when I get round to it.
Raleigh tandem of as yet unknown vintage - ongoing restoration for Eroica 2016

Comments

• g00se
    g00se Posts: 2,221
    What gears do you have at the moment?

When I go up there, I'm putting a big cassette on the back so I'll have a bail out of 34 on the front and 29 on the back.
  • nochekmate
    nochekmate Posts: 3,460
    Anything from 34/25 combo to 34/32 should suffice depending on rider strength (and no doubt there will be others who can get up Mow Cop on a traditional chainset).
  • frazered
    frazered Posts: 333
    same bike here, I was wondering the same thing!
  • giropaul
    giropaul Posts: 414
    24 inch gear will get you up (2 feet :lol: )
  • I am also doing the Cat and while I know that my triple gearing is adequate I am rather more concerned about the engine which really isn't up to it.
  • napoleond
    napoleond Posts: 5,992
    You'll be reet. 39-25 is ok for most, just take it easier than you think at the beginning.
    Insta: ATEnduranceCoaching
    ABCC Cycling Coach
  • sungod
    sungod Posts: 16,431