New peak time commute - routing advice? SE London-Central

Blandiblub
Blandiblub Posts: 134
edited February 2013 in Commuting chat
Hi all

Last year, I commuted semi-regularly (3 times a week maybe) but worked funny hours - late/night shifts inc. weekends. This meant it was generally ok to commute - less traffic, etc, - so I was less anxious doing it.

Now I'm doing a normal 9-5 M-F job (well, 8-4), I was initially hesitant as I considered the increased traffic/rush hour. However, having done it a few times now, I realise it's not so bad as I think drivers are expecting more cyclists than at other times and traffic is generally slower, so that's fine.

Anyway, I commute in from Welling (SE London/NW Kent) to Westminster. About 12.5 miles each way. As a newbie, I was wondering if anyone in the know had some route tips? At the mo, I go over Shooters Hill, Blackheath (where the traffic snarls up most), New Cross, Old Kent Road, E&C, Imperial War Museum and Lambeth Bridge.

I can handle Shooters Hill ok (bit out of practice now!), but the traffic over Blackheath is a bit of an annoyance as it's a bit tricky to filter there until you reach the bike lane over the Common itself.

I could cut through to Plumstead, Woolwich, Greenwich instead. It looks longer but would it be quicker?

I'm on the road at 0630 or so each day, if that matters - beats some of the rush hour.
Specialized Allez Elite 2011 *NEW*
Specialized Sirrus Elite 2011

Comments

• Paul E
    Paul E Posts: 2,052
    Just cut down the centre of the two lanes across the first bit, most times you can go the whole length without any trouble, only time is if you have a stupid moped in front of you that can't go through narrow gaps.

I come from near the top of shooters hill and I go right after deptford bridge and then left at the top of that road and then carry on and then right at london bridge and then embankment.

I would stick to your current route rather than go through the towns.