Numb Big Toe

m4ttc
m4ttc Posts: 41
edited February 2013 in Road beginners
I've been riding with SPDs for a month or so now and have found the transition fairly straight forward. I am gradually building up my miles and now up to 20 miles or so. I know it's not a lot to some people but I am an unfit novice new new to road cycling.
The problem I have is that my left big toe is getting numb towards the end of the ride. The shoes aren't too tight and feel pretty comfy. I have no problems with my right toe.

Should I just keep going or maybe adjust position of cleats? Any advice or experience would be appreciated.

Comments

• Mine do the same, even in summer & without SPDs!
    B'TWIN Triban 5A
    Ridgeback MX6
  • I have this problem too on both toes
  • royce
    royce Posts: 24
    I get pretty numb in all my toes with some pins and needles.
    Some of it I put down to the cold (over shoes have helped a bit)
    The rest I'm putting down to poor pedelling technique.
    The more I'm aware of how I pedal the better it's getting.
    I was tending to push my toes into the end of my shoes and toe clips and use that downward force to pedal.
    If I concentrate on pushing with the ball of my foot downwards and not pushing into my toe clips it's much better.

Of course it might just be me that pedals like that and your problem is completly different lol
  • smidsy
    smidsy Posts: 5,273
    Shoes too tight stopping full circulation.
    Yellow is the new Black.
  • smoggysteve
    smoggysteve Posts: 2,909
    smidsy wrote:

+1 Deffo sounds like tight shoes. Try taking inner sole out and see if it improves.
  • marcusjb
    marcusjb Posts: 2,412
    Almost certainly shoes too tight. What shoes are they? Let the front tension out a little if you can. Thinner socks?
  • smoggysteve
    smidsy wrote:

+1 Deffo sounds like tight shoes. Try taking inner sole out and see if it improves.