stairway to the hills?

Rulebritania
Rulebritania Posts: 209
edited February 2013 in Training, fitness and health
Hello,
I live in a 19 floor block of flats which has internal stairs, will climbing these a form of fitness aid me in hill climbs?
My thought is to climb the stairs then return so far and repeat. Seeing as the weather is awful.
Don't call me sir I work for a living

Comments

• t5nel
    t5nel Posts: 365
    edited January 2013
    Hello,
    I live in a 19 floor block of flats which has internal stairs, will climbing these a form of fitness aid me in hill climbs?
    My thought is to climb the stairs then return so far and repeat. Seeing as the weather is awful.

You will need strong wheels with AT LEAST 36 spokes . Descending will be fun :twisted:
    My bikes
    MTB - 1997 Kona Kula
    Hybrid - Kona Dew Deluxe
    Road - 2011 Ribble Gran Fondo, Omega Matrix Ultegra
  • ShutUpLegs
    ShutUpLegs Posts: 3,522
    I'd also be wary about knocking people over. Are you allowed to cycle up and down?
  • I wonder if you could get some star shaped wheels made up such that when riding up these stairs your axles would move in a straight line? Would make it much more comfortable
  • smidsy
    smidsy Posts: 5,273
    Well it will help your general fitness and that can't be a bad thing.
    Yellow is the new Black.
  • :D I walked straight into that one! :roll:
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    Chuck your bike on your shoulder then jog up the stairs. Splendid training for cyclocross. For added realism you could lay face down in a muddy puddle first.
  • Tom Butcher
    Tom Butcher Posts: 3,830
    I know fell runners who feel cycling has certainly helped their hill running - so would what is in effect hill running aid cycling ? I think yes probably - maybe not as much as getting on a bike and climbing hills - but if you are doing it as well as your normal cycling yes.