Turbo trainer

♠ChumBucket♠
♠ChumBucket♠ Posts: 388
edited February 2013 in Road beginners
The time has come, I'm so fed up of the dismal weather here in the rural Scottish Borders that I'm gonna get a turbo trainer. All my hard work from last year has probably gone to waste as I'm getting so little riding time. I've been riding a MTB with slicks but will be purchasing a road bike in Spring. So I would like one that both bikes could use.

Trouble is, I have zero experience of them & as usual the choice is overwhelming & raises more questions. I would like something reasonable which gives some kind of realistic resistance.

I know it's all been covered before but hey, products & prices change on a regular basis so..... ANY TIPS BOYS???? :D

What's this like?

http://www.tredz.co.uk/.Jet-Black-Z1-Fl ... =Froogle02
B'TWIN Triban 5A
Ridgeback MX6

Comments

• I keep hearing good things about the Kurt Kinetic (http://www.kurtkinetic.com/) but it seems very pricey to me (£450ish).
    So personally I'd get yourself onto eBay and get a second-hand turbo - it's one of those things that lots of people buy with the best intentions and then never use (like lots of fitness equipment!) I picked up a second-hand Tacx Swing and riser block for about £80 a few years ago which was a lot better than the price of a new one (plus I didn't know whether or not I would actually like using a turbo).

Whatever you do, I'd also recommend preparing to buy a spare back-wheel, cassette and a turbo-specific tyre (or use old tyres if you have them hanging around) - again a second hand wheel is fine.
  • Search for NapDs guide thread as it is the best source of knowledge and don't forget to budget for Sufferfest videos as well.
  • Have you considered rollers there a lot more fun.
  • VTech
    VTech Posts: 4,736
    I have no experience in cycling but after lots and lots of reading I purchased the TacX, its awesome, I love it.
    Living MY dream.