6 months in and still a beginner.

Rulebritania
Rulebritania Posts: 209
edited January 2013 in Road beginners
I'm putting it down to the fit I can only really manage once a week, therefore I'm not progressing in speed and ability to climb hills. How on earth am I going to get better.

I have decided though to increase distance to almost double my usual rides (30+ miles).
The coldest snowy winter in ages has put me back even further.
I haven't the room for a indoor roller/trainer

What do you do?
Don't call me sir I work for a living

Comments

• ShutUpLegs
    ShutUpLegs Posts: 3,522
    Spin or bike sessions in the gym
  • zx6man
    zx6man Posts: 1,092
    ShutUpLegs wrote:
    Spin or bike sessions in the gym

+1

I still try to commute (10 miles), if not I hit the gym fo a cycle session if during the week.
  • I live in a one bedroom flat & have room for rollers, they get used in the hallway & when not in use are under the bed mine also fold up so could easily go in the cupboard too if needed.

Or as others have said try a spin class at the gym.
    Pain hurts much less if its topped off with beating your mates to top of a climb.
  • mhj999
    mhj999 Posts: 122
    I live in a one bedroom flat & have room for rollers, they get used in the hallway & when not in use are under the bed mine also fold up so could easily go in the cupboard too if needed.

Or as others have said try a spin class at the gym.

+1 space for a bike = space for rollers or sell your sofa
    +1 spinning classes
    Sensa Giulia 105
  • nochekmate
    nochekmate Posts: 3,460
    What do we all do? Prioritise your life and make and find time to ride your bike - simple! :wink:

Buy some decent winter clothing, lights, guards and ride to and from work if possible. 100+ miles a week achieved easily and does not really eat into family time. Everyone's a winner!
  • Lassic
    Lassic Posts: 32
    I've been cycling for around 7 months too, ~3 days a week.