Cramping up

Liverpool1965
Liverpool1965 Posts: 23
edited February 2013 in Training, fitness and health
can anyone help, I have been cycling for about 2 years and during the summer months to late October was enjoying cycling approx 200 mile per week (Saturdays 70 -100 miles). Now when I go out I am getting cramp at 30 miles or so, any advice would be most welcome.

Comments

• styxd
    styxd Posts: 3,234
    Have you changed your bike setup? Have you changed your shoes? Have you moved your cleats? Are you pedalling differently?
  • No nothing has changed from any set up or diet...
  • Tom Dean
    Tom Dean Posts: 1,723
    Maybe you are not as fit as you were in the summer.
  • I thought that but up until recently, I was still pedalling 60 - 70 miles every saturday and a few 30 miles during the week.
  • dzp1
    dzp1 Posts: 54
    What muscle(s) do you get cramp in ?
  • I tend to get cramp in my left calf and then in my inner thighs, any thoughts or solutions?
  • slunker
    slunker Posts: 346
    I too suffer from cramp in the inner thighs (sartorious muscles) and was wondering for years what it could be. After much trial and error, trying advice on diet, elctrolytes, not fit enough I now know my muscles start cramping when my legs are fatigued,not from the current ride but after an accumulation of hard training/racing over a period of months . So basically I have an easy 7-10 days and then I'm fine again.
  • jgsi
    jgsi Posts: 5,062
    Inner thigh can get me sometimes.. so I go on a bit of splurge of stretching those muscles .. inner thigh and also outer... hip flexors glutes..
    I know a hard race with massive workload can get me however , not evrytime but just sometimes.. just part and parcel of the 'game'.
    I have just swapped saddles to a new Fizik Arione and in the middle of a big training block .. but no issues to report thankfully.
  • dzp1