nutrition question

royce
royce Posts: 24
edited January 2013 in Road beginners
Hi All

I'm fairly new to cycling (3 weeks)
I've slowly built up to a 25 mile ride.
However when I first did a 20 mile ride I found my energy levels just switched off after 15 miles.
I've been using gels since and haven't had any problems.
However I've been looking at the options available and I've got a question.

If I was to get an energy drink, would I no longer need gels or would the drink and gels work together?

Many thanks

Roy

Comments

• smidsy
    smidsy Posts: 5,273
    For rides of upto 2 hrs you should be able to comfortably complete them without any food.

If you can not then it sounds like you are not fuelling properly during your normal day.
    Yellow is the new Black.
  • pinarellokid
    pinarellokid Posts: 1,208
    id agree.. 2 hrs then feed but if its hard to do now just chill and keep getting out there..
    you have built up fast so may be good to slow a little and get a few 25 miles under your belt and see if you can manage them without any fuel..

after 6 months of riding i now ride regular 30-40 mile rides with just electrolite drink and no food.
    but i do feed up well before i set off.
    Specialized S Works SL2 . Campagnolo Record 11spd. rolling on Campag Zonda wheels

http://app.strava.com/athletes/881211
  • lc1981
    lc1981 Posts: 820
    smidsy wrote:
    If you can not then it sounds like you are not fuelling properly during your normal day.

A lot depends on overall fitness as well. The OP might be eating very well, but if they've never exercised much, then it's going to be tough to begin with. You've only been cycling for three weeks, but how is your general fitness?
  • themekon
    themekon Posts: 197
    id agree.. 2 hrs then feed but if its hard to do now just chill and keep getting out there..
    you have built up fast so may be good to slow a little and get a few 25 miles under your belt and see if you can manage them without any fuel..