Drive train problem and a Wiggle moan

LycraVirgin
LycraVirgin Posts: 55
edited February 2013 in Road beginners
So I have just been out for my first ride on my brand new road bike which I purchased from Wiggle. Disappointed to find the front and rear mechs are not working properly. The rear doesn’t change smoothly up and down the cassette , skips and jumps gears. When on the smallest 3 rear sprockets and big ring the chain is rubbing the front mech. There also seems to be a similar rubbing noise from the rear mech on a couple of sprockets that I can’t place exactly where it’s coming from. On closer inspection I have also noticed there is already wear on the big chain ring teeth after one short ride! I’m not an expert but I understand about not putting too much lateral force on the chain so I was careful keeping the gears matched front and rear. I also accept that that the rear mech could need dialling in after being removed for transportation, but shouldn’t really. For £800 its disappointing, I don’t have a bike stand and have never adjusted a mech. Also annoying you can’t actually phone wiggle, you can only send an email and then have to wait 8 hours for a response.
Guess I’m going to have to try adjusting it myself, any tips? And any ideas on why the teeth have worn on the chain ring so quickly? Thanks in advance

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    one the teeth are not all the same.

yes you will need to add some tension to the cables.

have a read of parktools
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • MattC59
    MattC59 Posts: 5,408
    To expand on Nicks answer, the teeth are supposed to be like that, they aid gear shifts.
    Science adjusts it’s beliefs based on what’s observed.
    Faith is the denial of observation so that Belief can be preserved