Fred on a fixie.

young dog
young dog Posts: 64
Hi.
I am thinking of doing The Fred on my fixie. Can anyone give me some gearing/riding advice? :D

Comments

• rodgers73
    rodgers73 Posts: 2,626
    Daft idea
  • Sorry, but I don't think it's a daft idea. It's been done before I believe. Obviously the gearing would have to be right.
  • maringirl
    maringirl Posts: 195
    Biggest sprocket you can find!
  • I have done the etape dd on fixed. It's not as daft as you seem to imply. :D
  • Have you tried getting up 33% climbs with one tho?

Buy some decent shoes, you'll need em the amount of walking you'd have to do...
  • Yes and done it. Back sprocket drives front sprocket drives back sprocket drives front sprocket. It's surprising what you can do with the correct gearing. :D
  • Kudos to you then, Young Dog.

However, i'm not sure (i'm no fixie expert), but don't fixies only have one brake? If so, i would give this some heavy thought. The descents on the Fred are pretty hairy & i would say front & rear brakes are a must! Worth a thought anyway.
  • ThanksBye
    ThanksBye Posts: 519
    Fixies dont have to just have one brake, alot of people only run one due to being able to brake with your legs.
    Cotic Soul
    Pearson Hanzo
    Airborne Zeppelin
  • Thanks thanksbye.
  • JamesB
    JamesB Posts: 1,184
    If it helps here`s a pic of rider on a 63" fixed On Devils Staircase , 25% +

http://kidderminsterctc.smugmug.com/Aud ... &k=qN9FKC4

respect :)
  • Tom Butcher
    Tom Butcher Posts: 3,830
    So what gear would you go for on Hardknott given it's a fair bit harder than the Devil's Staircase ? You almost need different sprockets on each side and flip the wheel for the big hills.

it's a hard life if you don't weaken.
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    Firstly, grunting your way up a short thirty-percenter isn't quite the same as Hardknott and a wholly different proposition to L'Etape where gradients rarely exceed 10%.