Buying a replacement front wheel

Gamblor
Gamblor Posts: 84
edited January 2013 in MTB beginners
So I've just gone down to start a ride and some knobhead has stolen the front wheel of my 2008 Carerra Vulcan. I had it chained up in our car park with a heavy duty chain/lock round the frame and a shackle lock through the back wheel. Why anyone would just steal the front wheel is beyond me, but there you go. They didn't even take the lights!

Not impressed as I've now got to buy a front wheel and have no idea where to start as I'm more or less a total noob.

I gather I'll need the wheel/tyre with the disk brake that was on it. How do I make sure I get a wheel that will match the back wheel (same tyre/size/brake etc)

EDIT: The back wheel is a Hotmetal EX-s 6103, but I'll also need to buy the replacement quick release thread/pole.

201301061805061.jpg

Comments

• Gamblor wrote:
    Why anyone would just steal the front wheel is beyond me, but there you go.

Maybe he's building a unicycle, just a thought.
  • trooperk
    trooperk Posts: 189
    Sorry to hear your bad news, in future might be good idea to put the chain through the frame and back wheel and the D-lock on front wheel/frame.
    Specialized-The clitoris of bikes.
  • Greer_
    Greer_ Posts: 1,716
    Any 26" front disc wheel will fit. You'll need to get a wheel, then a tyre, inner tube, 160mm disc, rotor bolts and QR skewer. Check with your LBS first then have a look at merlin online.

I have my bike stored at uni, d lock through frame and back wheel with a motorbike chain looped through both wheels.
  • Gamblor
    trooperk wrote:
    Sorry to hear your bad news, in future might be good idea to put the chain through the frame and back wheel and the D-lock on front wheel/frame.

In future its just going to stay in my flat. It was only in the car park as it got a bit of a mess around having to man-handle it down stairs every time I wanted to ride.
  • mcnultycop
    mcnultycop Posts: 2,143