WHICH MTB Rockrider 8.1/ Giant Revel 0.5 / Scott Aspect 630

robertfarr1
robertfarr1 Posts: 9
edited December 2012 in MTB buying advice
Hello

Im looking to purchase a MTB for the £500 mark for tow paths and also going up into the woods. I have read comments on here and other forums about the bikes, but still cant make my mind up.

The rockrider 8.1 has brillant components, light weight, but frame and rims not very good (from what ive been told).
The Giant Revel 0.5 ive just had a look at lovely bike components are good. Its 32lbs in weight.
Scott Aspect 630 is a litle over budget but i dont know if its worth the extra £50-£100

Heres some links to the specifications of each bike, im new to understanding the components and pros and cons.

Rockrider 8.1
http://www.decathlon.co.uk/81-2012-id_8168918.html Rockrider 8.1

Giant 0.5 Revel
http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-gb/bik ... 861/56889/

Scott Aspect 630
http://www.dalescycles.com/2013-scott-a ... tAodDncAGg

Cheers Guys

I need help making my mind up

Rob

Comments

• mcnultycop
    mcnultycop Posts: 2,143
    The Rockrider is the default response at this price point; I'd go for that.
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    No contest, the RR is head, shoulders and a a pair of step ladders above the others.
  • i do like the rockrider but my only problem with that is its 30 minute drive to my nearest one, and you only get 5 year guarantee on the frame. what do you think of the giant?
  • supersonic
    5 years is ample! Plus 2 years on the parts. The Giant is awful for the money, much less competent parts, heavier too.
  • supersonic wrote:
    No contest, the RR is head, shoulders and a a pair of step ladders above the others.

looks like im going for the rockrider lol can i ask how comes though? is it just components?
  • supersonic