Rough joint on Mavic rims?

alomac
alomac Posts: 189
edited January 2013 in MTB workshop & tech
I just took delivery of some wheels I ordered with Mavic EN521 rims and am surprised by how rough the the welded joint looks. The milling away of the welding flash has actually left a visible depression in the rim walls, which isn't the most confidence-inspiring thing I've seen. I gather that this is fairly normal for welded rims, but these are supposed to use Mavic's 'SUP' technology which, according to Sheldon, means that the rim is made thicker than normal, welded and then machined down uniformly to leave a smooth join. Are these depressions something to be concerned about?

Comments

• Pics?
  • i would be sending them back, sounds like they let the apprentice have a go,i make carbon motorbike wheels for a living so should no what im on about, you would hope.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    carbonkid wrote:
    i would be sending them back, sounds like they let the apprentice have a go,i make carbon motorbike wheels for a living so should no what im on about, you would hope.
    Do you weld them?
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • alomac
    Here are a couple of pics. They're straight out of my phone, so the size might be off, sorry.

One side:
    IMAG0034_zps838591b2.jpg

IMAG0040_zps2c620c92.jpg

The other:
    IMAG0037_zps7e067590.jpg

Both rims are the same, right down to the asymmetry between sides. The photos, if anything, exaggerate the depth of the gouges. I suspect what I'm looking at is normal, even if it doesn't jibe with Mavic's description of the SUP process, but a second opinion never hurt...
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Doesn't look right at all, never seen that before.
  • majormantra
    majormantra Posts: 2,094
    Unless the photo is grossly misrepresenting things, that looks awful - I'd definitely complain.
  • cooldad