Average speed...and cadence

surfatwork
surfatwork Posts: 82
edited December 2012 in Road beginners
I am relatively new to road biking. My GPS tells me that my average speed over a 15-20mile ride is about 11-12mph, riding an old MTB (not a road bike). I dont have a cadence monitor, but calculated my average cadence to be somewhere between 70 and 85 (used http://www.bikecalc.com/cadence_at_speed), which seems to be about reasonable.
So how come a lot of riders here report average speeds of 20mph and above? Aren't road bike gear ratios usually higher than MTB gear ratios? which would suggest that people are pedalling at incredible rpm - or am I getting it all wrong?
2011 Scott S30
2004 Trek 4500
2009 Trek 7.1

Comments

• elderone
    elderone Posts: 1,410
    From what understand and try to do is keep a similar cadence in what ever gear your in at the time.So on the flat in the big ring 20mph is quite easy.Now add hills and undulating roads and speeds go down so your on the small ring and keeping the same cadence,usually about 90rpm seems average.
    Personally on steep hills 90rpm is way to high for me even on the big gear at the back and small at the front.
    Dulce et decorum est Pro patria mori
  • kentphil
    kentphil Posts: 479
    Doesn't the amount of power you put through the cranks have an effect too?
    1998 Kona Cindercone in singlespeed commute spec
    2013 Cannondale Caadx 1x10
    2004 Giant TCR
  • Gearing-wise it depends on the MTB, but in general this is just a matter of strength and fitness, followed by aerodynamics and bike fit (given that some MTBs are decidedly unsuitable for riding predominantly seated and pedalling hard continuously) The general advice to road cyclists is to aim for cadences a bit higher than yours as stated (though I don't have a cadence sensor either), but some dispute the value of higher cadence.