Chainguard for sr suntour pff

Gamblor
Gamblor Posts: 84
edited December 2012 in MTB workshop & tech
EDIT: In the end I've bought this, http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... 0356806615, already had the chainguard attatched so seems the easiest option.

You'll have to excuse my naivety, I'm a total MTB novice.

Basically I need a chainguard for my bike as I'm forever ripping my trousers to shreds. I bought a cheap one from halfords but it didn't fit, so they've refunded me. They had a look and said I'm looking at £40 for a chainguard that would fit. That sounds rather steep to me...

Would this one fit? http://www.ukbikestore.co.uk/product/21 ... black.html

All I know about it is that it has SR SUNTOUR PFF written on, and has 42 teeth at last count.

As a side note, I think the fact about 5 of the teeth have worn down means I'll need to replace the whole thing at some point in the near future - do I need to replace the WHOLE unit, or can I just buy the replacement 'cog' (the one with the damaged teeth)

20121222203108.jpg

Thanks for reading, and apologies for my lack of knowledge, I know some of the more knowledgable people must have felt like banging their head against a wall reading that.

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    If the chainring are riveted on then you have to replace the whole chainset. That doesn't look like an allen bolt. However many teeth are sculpted to aid shifting, so is probably not wear - and would not wear unevenly like that.

The guard may fit, but sadly is trial and error. The easiest solution by far, and a better one, is to use trouser clips.
  • supersonic wrote:
    If the chainring are riveted on then you have to replace the whole chainset. That doesn't look like an allen bolt. However many teeth are sculpted to aid shifting, so is probably not wear - and would not wear unevenly like that.