Leg Warmers or Bib Tights

Churchill123
Churchill123 Posts: 341
edited November 2012 in Road beginners
So I'm pretty new at all this, but I went out on Saturday morning, and about 15miles into my ride I couldn't feel my feet (need some overshoes) My legs were also pretty cold - only realized when i'd stopped.

So my question is, am I better off just buying a pair of Gore bib tights or buying some leg warmers to wear with my current bib shorts?

Comments

• Personally I just bought some tights to go over my bib shorts. They do the job really well and also mean that if I'm cycling and find that I'm getting too hot then I can just take them off. Plus I can wear them for short local rides to friends houses, where I don't really feel I need the padding from my bib shorts. The ones I bought are these http://www.wiggle.co.uk/dhb-vaeon-rouba ... ist-tight/
  • pheez
    pheez Posts: 8
    I wear Bib tights when it feels anything under 5 degrees. Leg warmers between 5-10 degrees. Knee warmers 10-15. I only do this as I have accumulated all the bits over a couple of years previously I would just wear bib tights when it felt cold.
  • drlodge
    drlodge Posts: 4,826
    Bought some Funkier thermal bib tights, nice fit but actually not warm enough when it gets near 5deg C. Bought some Endura leg warmers, and they are actually warmer, party due to the fact that I themn have 2 layesr over my quads. I also have the option of using my non-thermal leg warmers over the bib tights...non padded bib tights over shorts also have the benefit of 2xlayers over your quads.
    WyndyMilla Massive Attack | Rourke 953 | Condor Italia 531 Pro | Boardman CX Pro | DT Swiss RR440 Tubeless Wheels
    Find me on Strava
  • fish156
    fish156 Posts: 496
    For me regular shorts plus leg warmers. I've never felt the need for specific bib tights.

I guess it's a personal choice.