test

greggow
greggow Posts: 28
edited November 2012 in MTB beginners
test

Comments

• What pressures do you run the tyres at and what caused the punctures? That does seem a lot. I've been hammering my bike offroad for 6 months and only had my first puncture last week. Just remember even if you do go tubeless you'll need to carry a spare tube and fix a puncture the traditional way anyway.
  • omegas
    omegas Posts: 970
    As post above , what type of punctures are you getting.

Change your tyres for ones that have puncture protection and fit better tubes . For the terrain you are riding I would be surprised if you get more than one puncture per year.
  • YeehaaMcgee
    YeehaaMcgee Posts: 5,740
    Tyres do make a difference. I used to suffer very frequent punctures, but in recent years I hardly get any. I run Maxxis, Kenda and Continental tyres, and stay away from ultralight race tyres, and manage fine.
    I have no experience of Specialized tyres at all, but maybe others can confirm whether or not they're relatively vulnerable tyres?
  • omegas
    omegas Posts: 970
    I have no experience of Specialized tyres at all, but maybe others can confirm whether or not they're relatively vulnerable tyres?

If they are the Specialized tyres that came with the bike as new hold them up to the light , you can see through them as they are like tissue paper.
  • YeehaaMcgee
    YeehaaMcgee Posts: 5,740
    Ah, bin them and get something else then!
    OEM tyres are often very cheap editions anyway.
  • camerauk
    camerauk Posts: 1,000
    I had the captain tyres when I got my camber from new
    I never had a problem with that many punctures on them,