Changing stem length

ziglar
ziglar Posts: 112
edited November 2012 in Road beginners
I am a complete newbie to cycling and bought a 2006 Cervelo Team Soloist 54cm bike in August and love it to bits. However, at 5'7" I find myself sitting forwards on the seat too often and have to push my backside back to get slightly more comfortable on the seat. Sitting back on the seat also seems to give me slightly more power but I could be imagining it.

Would changing the stem length help? It's currently 110mm and I was thinking of trying 60mm or 70mm?

Comments

• Mikey41
    Mikey41 Posts: 690
    Is the saddle level? It's not uncommon for people to have the saddle pointing down too much and sliding forwards on it. Having said that, that frame sounds too big for you, so changing the stem will help your reach.
    Giant Defy 2 (2012)
    Giant Defy Advanced 2 (2013)
    Giant Revel 1 Ltd (2013)
    Strava
  • pinarellokid
    pinarellokid Posts: 1,208
    quick rough guide is when riding take a look at the front wheel axle,
    if you see it something is wrong
    in front of the handlebars and the stem is too short.
    if you see it behind the handlebars the stem is too long.
    iholding a broom handle and getting a friend to measure will help you find the stem length you need
    Specialized S Works SL2 . Campagnolo Record 11spd. rolling on Campag Zonda wheels

http://app.strava.com/athletes/881211
  • Grill
    Grill Posts: 5,610
    The frame is too big as that's the size I would ride and I'm 5' 11". If you shorten the stem by that much you're going to find the steering super-twitchy. Can you flip the seatpost head on the soloist team? If so it would shorten the toptube length enough for a better fit, but you're still putting a band-aid on a broken arm. I learned the hard way to stop trying to get the wrong size frame to fit and just do it properly.
    English Cycles V3 | Cervelo P5 | Cervelo T4 | Trek Domane Koppenberg
  • ziglar