Sunday (11th), Cardiff Area - anyone about?

jimothy78
jimothy78 Posts: 1,407
edited August 2016 in MTB rides
Hi all,

have just confirmed with my "social secretary" that I'm not otherwise engaged on Sunday, and have been granted a short leave of absence.

If anyone else is free, and fancies meeting up, I'd be glad of some company. Feel free to suggest the time of day and route, but just so you know, I'm pretty new to this so nothing too technical/hardcore, please.

cheers,
jim

Comments

• welshkev
    welshkev Posts: 9,690
    Hi jim, usually I'd say yes. But I'm booked to go out on the dh bike at Cwmcarn tomorrow. next time though :-)
  • jimothy78
    No worries - have fun at CC - BTW do you ever ride "Twrch" instead of hitting the downhill? If so, what's it like in terms of technicality? It's on my "to-do-when-I'm-more-confident" list, but would be interested to know how rollable it is?
  • its just a trail!
    Climbs are quite hard, nothing technical on the descents!
  • jimothy78
    OK, thanks NM, maybe I'll try it sooner than I thought, then.
  • welshkev
    Yeah as Ben said. The climbs are tough - dont feel bad about getting off to push (I don't :-))

But it's all rollable, just go as fast as you feel is comfortable, there's nothing that'll catch you out that you can't just roll over
  • jimothy78
    OK, thanks for the encouragement. I'll try it soon, but probably leave that one for a weekday, so I don't hold up too many faster folks.

As for tomorrow, I'm wondering about tackling the Garth and (possibly) the descent from there into Coed y Gedris - have either of you done that route? I've read its a good ride, but also that it can be a bit hairy in places...
  • welshkev
    Nah I've never ridden over that side, but I think they had a British champs xc race up there do it must be ok. Don't think you'll be holding people up at cc mate, the trail itself never gets too congested.
  • jimothy78
    Well, I made it!