Open country routes (S. Wales)

jimothy78
jimothy78 Posts: 1,407
edited November 2012 in Routes
Hi all.

am finding my local trails, which are mostly in woodland, to be constantly wet and muddy, and as I'm still learning the ropes, I'm struggling to build up my confidence. The constant threat of all those trees means there's very little margin for error, too, so am trying to find some open (moorland or similar) routes to session to build up my skills in a more tollerant-of-mistakes way.

Any suggestions? I'm based in cardiff, so particularly after anything in the immediate area.

Thanks,
Jim

Comments

• welshkev
    welshkev Posts: 9,690
    jimothy78 wrote:
    Hi all.

am finding my local trails, which are mostly in woodland, to be constantly wet and muddy, and as I'm still learning the ropes, I'm struggling to build up my confidence. The constant threat of all those trees means there's very little margin for error, too, so am trying to find some open (moorland or similar) routes to session to build up my skills in a more tollerant-of-mistakes way.

Any suggestions? I'm based in cardiff, so particularly after anything in the immediate area.

Thanks,
    Jim

hi mate, check out www.halfwayupmtb.com

the club's based in blackwood but there's riders from all over. i was riding with a guy from cardiff last night :D

where do you usually ride? caerphilly mountain?
  • stealf
    stealf Posts: 49
    Hi Jimothy78
    Try exploring up and around the moor above and around Castle Coch, excellent ground and a damn good playground for 3-5 hours. Admittedly it's better in summer months. Don't be afraid of the trees though, they don't move that much and it's the rocks that you 'may' fall on that will hurt more......
    keep trying and think of your mates saying MTFU - Any pain is only your brain telling you that riding in the wet is too much fun to quit and it is only temporary
    A bicycle ride is a flight from sadness.
    James E. Starrs

Current Bikes