Banging Noises from new Cube Ltd ????

Magic Joey
Magic Joey Posts: 12
edited November 2012 in MTB workshop & tech
Hello everyone - newbie here - hope you can help.

Been riding my 15 year old full suspension bike for a while and thought I'd treat myself to a new bike. I went for a Cube Ltd 2012 and managed to get one at a bargain price from Bike Discount in Germany. After a two week wait it arrived today and I was, as expected, very excited to put it together.

So everything goes together quite smooth with no problems. However in my excitement to test it out I was doing the typical thing of pulling brakes and compressing forks (Rock Shox Recon Air) and generally banging the bike around a bit in the garage.

I noticed that the frame seems to make some pretty strange loud bangy metallic type noise. It just seems really loud. It's hard to tell where it's coming from exactly - could be the crank - could be the forks - could be anywhere coz it just sort of reveberates round the frame.

I'm used to my old ful sus' being a bit rattley but it doesn't sound loud and 'bangy' like this. Is it just coz it's a light alu' frame? - is it the shocks? - have I set it up wrong? - is it the crank? - has anyone else experienced anything similar?

It's difficult to describe and so apologies for the vagueness of my description but any help or advice would be very much appreciated.

Cheers.

Comments

• Chunkers1980
    Chunkers1980 Posts: 8,035
    How about when you actually ride it?
  • I know it's daft - but I haven't ridden it yet. Only just finished putting it together and it's absolutely lashing down outside.

I know I need to ride it really but with it coming over from Germany I want to avoid any problems with them saying I've used / broke it if I have to send it back.