Specialized vs Boardman vs Scott

I.T.B
I.T.B Posts: 7
edited October 2012 in Road general
Ok... I'll say straight off the bat that I'm relatively new to road cycling so I'm after some much needed advice.

I signed up yesterday and asked a couple of questions about sizing in relation to a Specialized Allez Sport I was thinking of getting. I have been dead cert on getting the Allez Sport 2013 and was in the shop about to put my money down when I thought I should walk away and have a little bit of a think.

I've since been thinking that I was being a bit hasty. Forget about the Allez for a moment. What about these...
- Boardman Road Comp Bike 2011/2012 £899
- Boardman Road Team Bike 2011/2012 £999
- Scott Speedster 30 Compact 2013 Road Bike £899
- Scott Speedster 20 Compact 2013 Road Bike £999

Yes, they are £100-200 more, but are they worth it? Specialized make good bikes but are you paying a bit for the name as well?

If it was a choice between the 5 what would you recommend? I've kind of come round to the idea that the Allez is the "go to" bike for people who want to get into road cycling.

Although I am relatively new to road cycling (18ish months) I'm prepared to spend a little to make sure I have something good that I won't want to upgrade in a years time.

I imagine these kind of posts are pretty boring to contribute to but if anyone could share their points of view I would really appreciate it.

Comments

• ShutUpLegs
    ShutUpLegs Posts: 3,522
    Get the Allez
  • Sprool
    Sprool Posts: 1,022
    edited October 2012
    I got a scott S30 last month for £699 - last years model. Very happy. Great frame, 105 and tiagra gear sets, entry level wheels but good spec tyres. Specialized are great bikes but expect to pay a bit more for the name. Not a lot in it in terms of quality at this level. Take the one that feels best to you. Boardman get good write ups but there's a Halfords hate club here. Ignore them if it feels good for you.
  • no trek? :?
    MADONE 5.2